Common Aviation Area Agreement

Commission Communication on Common Airspace with Neighbouring Countries 2010 – Progress Report [COM (2008)596] For the record, the Common Airspace Agreement (ECEA) between the EU and third countries sets common safety standards and liberalises market relations in the air transport sector, allowing for more efficient and safer use of airspace. The ECAA agreements were signed on 5 May 2006 in Salzburg, Austria, between the EU and some third countries. It was built on the EU`s achievement and the European Economic Area. The ECAA liberalises the airline industry by allowing any airline in each ECAA member state to fly between airports of ECAA member states, allowing a “foreign” airline to offer domestic flights. A similar system that is to come into force in the field of aviation with the countries of the Mediterranean partnership. The Euro-Mediterranean Air Services Agreement (EMAA) was signed with Israel on 12 December 2006 with the Kingdom of Morocco[8] on 15 December 2010[9] on 10 June 2013. [10] These EMAA agreements are in effect. This airspace implies the adoption of the part of the acquis which contains the European rules on air transport by our neighbouring partners, starting with the safety requirements. The opening of the market and the gradual harmonisation of legislation are implemented successively and are complemented by technical assistance to help these partner countries adopt the necessary measures. The CAA is implemented through comprehensive aviation agreements, which promote economic, commercial and tourism relations in general.

Negotiations for such a comprehensive agreement can begin as soon as the neighbouring country has demonstrated its clear commitment to meet the obligations of CAA membership. The agreement on common European airspace is an ambitious agreement between the partners of south-eastern Europe: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Northern Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Kosovo (this designation does not affect positions on status and is in line with UN Security Council Resolution 1244 and the international council`s opinion on the Kosovo Declaration of Independence) , on the one hand, and the European Union, Norway and Iceland, on the other. Joint airspace agreements have been opened for members of the EU`s Eastern Partnership. Georgia signed a CAA[3] on 2 December 2010 and Moldova signed on 26 June 2012. [4] Ukraine reached a CAA agreement in November 2013. [5] CAA agreements are in effect. More information and figures on the EU-Western Balkans air relations and EU aviation in general are available in the Atlas of Heaven.

Pin It